Work Order Flow
Work Orders in PASS Tools provide users with an easy way to triage and address multiple action items at one time. We'll first run through how to create one, then review its flow/lifecycle.
Work Orders live at the facility level, to get started we first need to navigate to the location that you'd like to manage action items for.
Who Can Create Work Orders?
Work Orders can be created by two user types, Company Users and Service Provider admins.
If a Company User creates a Work Order, the flow is restricted for submission and resolution/closure to other users within the same organization. In a future update, the functionality will be added that will allow Company Users to create Work Orders and then assigned them to a Service Provider.
If a Service Provider admin creates a Work Order, the approval step will be performed by a Company Admin that belongs to the same organization that the facility does.
A Work Order has a flow that it goes through on its way to closure or resolution. Below is a diagram that illustrates the path a Work Order can take, but we'll also take a moment to explain each individual status a Work Order can be in.
This is the status a Work Order is in upon creation, or when it is reset from the Denied status. Think of this as the time in which you make changes to the Work Order. You can add/edit action items, notes, and estimates before it's submitted for approval.
Once a Work Order is ready to go it is submitted to a user for approval. When submitting a Work Order you'll be able to choose from a list of all Company Users for the organization that the facility belongs to. Upon submission, an email will be sent to the Approver as well as the Submitter of the Work Order.
If the Approver likes what they see, they can Approve the Work Order, which in turn sends an email to the Submitter notifying them that the Work Order is ready to be Dispatched.
When in the Dispatched status, the Submitter of the Work Order needs to schedule and assign it to an Assignee. When this is done an email is sent to both the Approver and Assignee. The Work Order then also becomes visible on all appropriate calendars and schedulers.
Once the Assignee has completed the Work Order visit and addressed the Action Items, it should be marked as resolved. This will notify both the Submitter and Approver that the work has been completed. This will also mark all associated Action Items resolved and is the end of the flow of an approved Work Order.
The Approver also has the option to deny a Work Order. If a Work Order is denied, the Submitter is notified and has the option to Reset it to Draft status or mark the Work Order as Closed.
If the Submitter marks the Work Order as Closed, all Action Items are also marked as Closed, which is the default status for items that have not been, and will not be fixed/addressed. This is the final status of a denied Work Order.